La Jolla Symphony & Chorus, Virtually

Rooted in San Diego for over 60 years, the La Jolla Symphony & Chorus presents concerts of ground-breaking, traditional and contemporary classical music. UCTV has had the privilege of partnering with LJS&C for over twenty-five years.

While we had hoped to record the first concert of the new season at UC San Diego’s Mandeville Auditorium with an audience, the revised opening concert gathered as many of the players of the full orchestra as possible, in a safe environment for indoor performance. The result is this virtual concert that transforms the traditional orchestra to feature small ensembles highlighting the core of talented musicians.

This concert is in three sections, representing the various orchestral instrument families – brass, winds, and strings.

La Jolla Symphony Brass:
William Byrd: The Earl of Oxford’s March
Gabrieli: Canzoni in Echo
Tielman Susato: Pavane Bataille

La Jolla Symphony Winds:
Mozart: Serenade for Winds in C-Minor; K388

La Jolla Symphony Strings:
Barber: Adagio for Strings
Tchaikovsky: Serenade for Strings

Watch this presentation of Music is Always Subject to Change by the La Jolla Symphony and Chorus.